top of page

OCTOBER 17, 2020, 
7:30 PM

through midnight October 19

Akropolis C.jpg


Photo: Tom Emerson

The energetic and engaging Akropolis Reed Quintet, founded in 2009 at the University of Michigan, has won seven national chamber music prizes since 2011, including the Fischoff Gold Medal, Fischoff Educator Award, Plowman Grand Prize, and MTNA Grand Prize.

The Quintet has premiered more than 70 new compositions. They celebrated their 10th anniversary by commissioning 10 new works. Among these is Homage to Paradise Valley, which they will perform for us. That piece celebrates the history of Detroit’s displaced Black Bottom neighborhood. 

“All of the music…is remarkable for the sheer joy that it elicits from the exceptional ARQ musicians… Blend, balance, unanimity of pitch and phrasing: all are perfect.”Fanfare 

Marc Mellits...........Splinter

Jeff Scott................Homage to Paradise Valley

John Steinmetz......Sorrow and Celebration for reed quintet and audience

Gershwin.............. An American in Paris

Marc Mellits, Splinter

Jeff Scott, Homage to Paradise Valley

Stacy Garrop, Rites for the Afterlife

Gershwin,  An American in Paris

Let the members of Akropolis introduce themselves to you.

“Nearly a decade since their first performance, the Akropolis Reed Quintet continues to dazzle and engage audiences with virtuoso off-the-wall performances. . . . Their sound is rich, deep, and often wildly hilarious…”

bottom of page